Delerium – “Remixed: The Definitive Collection” [CD Review]

Review: Ben Hosking

  It has always been equally intriguing and amusing to this reviewer that a pair of individuals as intense and creative as Rhys Fulber and Bill Leeb should be most widely known for a dance/pop project. However, this is exactly the case for the Canadian pair long known in metal and industrial circles for their work with projects like Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly and Rhys’ regular contributions to groups such as Fear Factory.

Despite – or perhaps because of – this, Delerium has always been an infinitely listenable experience that has pushed the boundaries of the genre; often

encompassing a wonderful darkness. Hopefully they’ve helped regular fans of mindless commercial dance to open their minds to something more creative, layered and ultimately – respectable.

Their latest disc ‘Remixed: The Definitive Collection’ represents tacks from their extensive catalogue remixed by a number of notable artists such as Niels Van Gogh, Dave Ramone, DJ Dan, Andy Moor and DJ Tiesto. As you could imagine, ‘Silence’ appears on the disc in two separate remixes – the duo’s biggest hit to date. Other tracks include ‘Lost and Found’, ‘Send Me an Angel’, ‘Angelicus’, ‘Underwater’ and ‘Heaven’s Earth’.

However, perhaps the most significant element to ‘Remixed…’ is the song ‘Dust in Gravity’– Delerium’s first new single in nearly four years. Featuring Canadian R&B/pop singer Kreesha Turner on vocals, both the original album version and a remix by Niels Van Gogh appear on the disc.

‘Remixed…’ is perhaps not the greatest choice for someone looking to have their first Delerium experience, but it’s definitely an interesting inclusion for any existing fans.

DeleriumClick here to buy Delerium from iTunes